Africa Payment Cost Report · Issue 1 · October 2026 · Method 2026-10-v2

What it costs to pay into Africa, by bank and by stablecoin.

South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Côte d'Ivoire, Namibia and Botswana, from US dollars and euros, at 5k, 50k and 250k in each. Measured against one independent reference, with the evidence behind every figure. Table as of 2026-11-02.

Corrections, read first

4 corrections to this report and posts quoting it, the latest on 2026-10-17: what was wrong, what changed and the commit that changed it. Read the corrections log.

Coverage, stated first

14 of 14 corridors have a reference rate today, and 0 have a route measured end to end: a business payment near the size shown that landed. Only measured figures are shown: payments that landed and live market reads, each labelled with what it leaves unknown. No published price or estimate is shown, and a missing leg is never counted as zero; where nothing is measured the cell reads "Being measured". Providers who send a quote get it measured on the same basis, free.

CorridorSizeMeasured end to endBank, lowestFX or payment platform, lowestStablecoin provider, lowestUSDC on the open market, now
USD → ZAR
South Africa
Reference 16.6363 ZAR per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.03% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.43% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.08% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.36% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.17% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.27% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
EUR → ZAR
South Africa
Reference 18.6606 ZAR per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
€5kBeing measuredBeing measured1.00% measured: 3 consumer payments of EUR 1,900, EUR 1,132, EUR 1,075; none is a business payment near this size
not verified for this payment
observed 2026-10-01, 32 days before this build (stale); measured against the fixing for its value date
Being measured0.03% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.43% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 5,608.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€50kBeing measuredBeing measured1.00% measured: 3 consumer payments of EUR 1,900, EUR 1,132, EUR 1,075; none is a business payment near this size
not verified for this payment
observed 2026-10-01, 32 days before this build (stale); measured against the fixing for its value date
Being measured0.09% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.35% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 56,084.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€250kBeing measuredBeing measured1.00% measured: 3 consumer payments of EUR 1,900, EUR 1,132, EUR 1,075; none is a business payment near this size
not verified for this payment
observed 2026-10-01, 32 days before this build (stale); measured against the fixing for its value date
Being measured0.18% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 0.26% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 280,420.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
USD → NGN
Nigeria
Reference 1347.94 NGN per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.01% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 2.20% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.19% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 2.02% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured3.70% cost of the size, measured, on-chain pool; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.57% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
EUR → NGN
Nigeria
Reference 1511.96 NGN per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.02% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 2.20% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 5,608.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured0.20% cost of the size, measured, exchange books; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: the live book is 2.01% above, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 56,084.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured3.70% cost of the size, measured, on-chain pool; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.57% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 280,420.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
USD → KES
Kenya
Reference 129.923 KES per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-10-28 (date only; lower confidence: older than a weekend)
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
EUR → KES
Kenya
Reference 144.567 KES per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-10-28 (date only; lower confidence: older than a weekend)
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
USD → GHS
Ghana
Reference 11.6233 GHS per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-10-28 (date only; lower confidence: older than a weekend)
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
EUR → GHS
Ghana
Reference 12.9334 GHS per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-10-28 (date only; lower confidence: older than a weekend)
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredlive on-chain pool price found; today's reference is missing, so it is not measured
USD → XOF
Côte d'Ivoire
Reference 584.799 XOF per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
Fixed: 655.957 XOF per EUR. Every basis point above it is margin.
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
EUR → XOF
Côte d'Ivoire
Reference 655.957 XOF per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
Fixed: 655.957 XOF per EUR. Every basis point above it is margin.
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 5,608.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 56,084.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measured measured, on-chain pool; cost of the size not reported; a market read, not a payment
Against the 2026-11-02 fixing: 1.82% below, market movement since the fixing included, so not a provider cost. Read at USD 280,420.
partly verified; unknown, not zero: buying the stablecoin from a bank account (on-ramp), exchange withdrawal or network fee, payout to a local bank account
USD → NAD
Namibia
Reference 16.6363 NAD per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
Fixed: 1 NAD per ZAR. Every basis point above it is margin.
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
EUR → NAD
Namibia
Reference 18.6606 NAD per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
Fixed: 1 NAD per ZAR. Every basis point above it is margin.
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
USD → BWP
Botswana
Reference 13.4771 BWP per 1 USD, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
$5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
$50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
$250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
EUR → BWP
Botswana
Reference 15.1170 BWP per 1 EUR, fixing of 2026-11-02 (date only; same day)
€5kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
€50kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market
€250kBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredBeing measuredno live market

Open-market reads this hour: 30 of 42 priced; not priced: NAD: no exchange book or pool for this currency (6), BWP: no exchange book or pool for this currency (6).

Rules that changed, last 90 days

Who may carry it is changing.

South Africa (ZAR)
  • 2026-10-28: Circle, a US fintech, backs a South African payments firm that operates in 30 African markets, according to a Business Insider Africa headline. Business Insider Africa
  • 2026-10-27: South Africa's CrissCross received an investment from Circle Ventures to expand stablecoin payments across Africa. Condia
  • 2026-10-26: Paymentology is powering Mukuru's expansion into everyday banking in South Africa, according to an FF News headline published 2026-10-26. FF News
  • 2026-10-26: South Africa plans to allow regulated fintechs to access its payment network directly without relying on banks. TechCabal
  • 2026-10-26: Paymentology is expanding its partnership with Mukuru as Mukuru launches the Mukuru Account & Card in South Africa. Finextra headlines
Nigeria (NGN)
  • 2026-11-02: Grey secured an International Money Transfer Operator (IMTO) approval from the Central Bank of Nigeria for inbound remittance rails in Nigeria. Technext
  • 2026-11-02: Grey secured an International Money Transfer Operator licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria, according to a Condia report published 2026-11-02. Condia
  • 2026-10-31: The naira weakened from N1,329.50/$ at the end of September 2026 to N1,346/$ on October 30, 2026, reversing about 42% of its gains recorded between July and September. Nairametrics
  • 2026-10-31: The Central Bank of Nigeria appointed eight pre-shipment inspection agents to monitor crude oil and gas exports and two monitoring and evaluation agents to oversee their activities. Nairametrics
  • 2026-10-30: The Central Bank of Nigeria is reported to be taking steps to boost payments and investment between Nigeria and China, per a headline with no further detail. LEADERSHIP Newspapers
Kenya (KES)
  • 2026-11-01: Kenya is seeking a partnership with COMESA to turn diaspora remittances into investments, according to a headline published 2026-11-01. The Kenyan Diaspora Media
  • 2026-10-19: A headline reports that remittances to Kenya declined amid a US transfer tax and war. Briefs Finance
  • 2026-10-19: Bloomberg reported that remittances to Kenya were reduced by a new US tax and by fallout from the Iran war. Bloomberg.com
  • 2026-10-17: Kenyans.co.ke reported that the Kenyan shilling held steady while remittances dipped in September 2026. Kenyans.co.ke
  • 2026-10-16: People Daily reports that Ethiopia's Birr devaluation reduced Ethiopia's GDP in dollar terms, and Kenya is again East Africa's largest economy. People Daily
Ghana (GHS)
  • 2026-10-29: VitalSwap expanded its cross-border payments service to Nigeria and Ghana, according to a headline published 2026-10-29. The Guardian Nigeria News
  • 2026-10-20: Stanbic Bank Ghana and RD Technologies are exploring stablecoin-powered cross-border payments, according to a TechAfrica News headline published 2026-10-20. TechAfrica News
  • 2026-10-15: Bank of Ghana clarified the role of GoldBod in forex supply, according to a Modern Ghana Prime Business programme dated 15-10-26. Modern Ghana
  • 2026-10-14: Bank of Ghana is piloting digital cross-border payments with Rwanda and Nigeria, according to a MyJoyOnline headline published 2026-10-14. MyJoyOnline
  • 2026-10-13: Bank of Ghana is piloting digital cross-border payments with Rwanda and Nigeria, according to a Ghana News Agency headline. Ghana News Agency
Côte d'Ivoire (XOF)
  • 2026-10-30: Visa and Senegal's Ministry of Telecommunications and Digital Affairs signed a Memorandum of Understanding establishing a two-year framework for strategic collaboration on Senegal's digital transformation. Finextra headlines
Namibia (NAD)

No change on record in the last 90 days.

Botswana (BWP)

No change on record in the last 90 days.

Method
  • Cost is the gap between what lands and what the same amount would land at an independent reference rate (central-bank and market rates), fees included, at the payment size shown.
  • Only measured figures are shown: payments that landed, and live open-market reads. Published prices and estimates are not shown. Where nothing is measured, the cell reads "Being measured".
  • Measured end to end: only a business payment near the size shown that landed, so every deduction on the way is netted. A payment measured for another customer or size is shown with that basis, never as the price of the row.
  • Banks and FX or payment platforms are separate columns; an FX platform is never counted as a bank. A provider is a bank only where a source says so: the provider's own pages on our business-rails register, or the comparison feed's label. A feed label we doubt keeps the provider out of the bank column until a regulator's register settles it.
  • A leg nothing on record measures is listed as unknown, never counted as zero: the receiving bank's fee and, for bank wires, intermediary deductions; for stablecoins, buying the stablecoin and, on the open market, the withdrawal and the payout.
  • Stablecoin figures start from a stablecoin already held (USDC or USDT) and end in the local currency. A business paying from a bank account also pays to buy the stablecoin first (an on-ramp), which is not included in either stablecoin column.
  • Stablecoin provider, lowest: a landed payment through a stablecoin payout provider, when one is on record. Buying the stablecoin first (the on-ramp) is not included.
  • USDC on the open market: measured now on exchange order books and on-chain pools at the payment size. The figure shown first is the cost of the size itself, against the best price on the same books at the same moment, so it holds no market movement. The gap to the daily reference fixing is shown apart: it mixes the spread with whatever the market did since the fixing, so it is not a provider cost and not a saving. A euro row reads at its dollar equivalent and still needs euros turned into USDC (the on-ramp). It is the conversion only: the payout to a local bank account is not included.
  • Timing (method 2026-10-v2): references are central-bank fixings, resolved to the day (the publishers state a date, not a time). A reference up to 3 days old counts as current (weekends), up to 14 days is lower confidence and said so, older does not price the corridor. A measured figure more than 7 days old at the build date is marked stale. Each figure states what it was measured against: a landed payment against the fixing for its value date, an open-market read against the live book.
  • Sizes are in the row's own currency: USD 5k, 50k and 250k, and EUR 5k, 50k and 250k. Until 16 Oct 2026 a euro row was the dollar size converted (about EUR 4.4k, 44k and 220k).
  • Route types are compared, never named providers. SwapEazi takes no fee or commission from any provider.
  • Not yet covered: fees charged by the receiving bank. They are unknown, not zero, so no figure here is a verified end-to-end cost unless it rests on payments that landed.
The SwapEazi weekly brief, free

Every Monday: stablecoins off their peg or thin, what banks charged per corridor, and rule dates with their documents. Once a month, the Africa Payment Cost Report. Every figure dated. Free.